Songs of my Heart

Songs of My Heart

Songs have always had the ability to carry me away to another time and place; almost giving a sense of euphoria as I get so lost in the emotions, the memories, the lyrics and the melody. There are some that stand out as being “songs of my life”, that can always bring me somewhere special. 

As I sit and listen to Pachebel’s Canon in D, I am lost in the moment. No matter where I am when I hear it, I am gone with it. I think that I was about 14-years-old when I first heard the beauty of the song and I longed to hear it time after time. I have come to call this my “life’s song” as it represents the joys and the struggles the playfulness and the sadness. I hear the phases of life when I listen to this song. 

My dad was a big fan of the Beatles, so thinking of which song brought the best memories back I remember him singing “When I’m 64” over and over. He’d ask if I’d care for him and love him still. I always said yes.. Sadly, he didn’t make it to that age, but I hold him and the many, many songs we sang together through the years, close to my heart.

There is a song based on the prayer of St Francis of Assisi. My favourite stage of my life certainly was that special time of middle school. We were a very tight-knit bunch of kids and funny enough, many of us have remained friends. We would sing this song in church as a grade and somewhere close to me is the wonderful man that I stand beside in the very same church singing the same song. 🙂 

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

10 Comments on “Songs of my Heart

  1. Music always has the power to move our heart and, while some can be irritating to me, I enjoy so many kinds of music. It can evoke such emotion and memories. Too many have I lost so far in life, yet I’m thankful for the memories. Nice piece to stir me for the day.

    Like

      • hmmm, being a country boy, I seem to fall back on my roots.. If I were to think of my 3 favorites that leave me memories:

        1. Lady Antebellum – I need you now
        2. Three Dog Night – One
        3. Roberta Flack – Killing Me Softly

        Like

        • Awesome choices! I knew that you’d have good ones. Thinking of Roberta Flack’s song brought me back to my grandmothers big front lawn listening to mu new transistor radio. I was so proud of it, coloured red, white and blue.

          Like

  2. Music is amazing. As Beethoven said “If you hear a marching band, is your soul exalted? No, you march. If you hear a waltz, you dance. If you hear a mass, you take communion. It is the power of music to carry one directly into the mental state of the composer. The listener has no choice. It is like hypnotism.”

    Like

I love and appreciate feedback. Feel free to let me know what you think. Bless you lots, Easter Ellen

everyday deelights

capturing your deelightful day

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Remind Your Mind

Navigating the journey to higher awareness.

New Millionaires Mindset

It's all in your head

Be Inspired

You're Here..., Because You Inspire God

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

eastelmhurst.a.go.go

I have a hyperactive imagination.Welcome to my world. You can get here by way of Astoria Blvd.,Sunrise Hwy or Wyoming Avenue~

dribblingpensioner

Just another pensioner with his thoughts if he can remember them

Joke for today

A NEW JOKE EVERY DAY

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

- LozziiRAWR - Quotes

Quotes that mean something

Conversations Around the Tree

friends and followers discuss random ideas

Storybook Art Café Blog

Every Life is a Storybook Unfolding! Learn about faith, hope & love through Scripture, stories & art

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

Covey View

a covey of bloggers presenting a view of their world.

3 words

working with three words a day

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Meredith's Reveries

Think, read, write

The blossoming fall

Dealing with the everyday issues of school and friends.

Tripping Over Pebbles No More

Rants, raves and ramblings about whatever takes my fancy

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

Triumphant Wings

A Journey with Lupus & Antiphospholipid Syndrome

jaybluepoems

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

MBK Wildlife Photography

Wildlife Photography and Bird Photography Blog, technique and pictures

Living With No Excuses

The Way Forward!

Hostess At Heart

Sharing life one recipe at a time

From the North to the South

And all the stops along the way

Gail Masinda

Music Studio

Dare to Dream, Live to Write

Closer to the dream. One word at a time.

My Renaissance

This is my journey of constantly being reborn into a better self every day. ~

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Amongst the crowd

A truthful and honest journey

{This Is Life}

... it doesn't get better than this!

Cladach Publishing

Producing and Providing Christian Books from Our Shore to Yours

Angelart Star

The beautiful picture of angels makes you happy.

Willis Island Walking

The story of a completed walk for charity around a desert island in the Coral Sea

photo roberts blog

ich zeige euch meine stadt wie ich sie sehe

Wandering Iris

Wandering through life, getting better every day.

Lins Doodles

Illustration Friday challenge, artwork, mixed media, drawings, photo challenges

ArtKorppi

ends 28.3.2016?

Uncle Tree's House

Putting music to words, and words to pictures ~

Why? Matters

Why do I do what I do?

FREE BIRD

live life on your terms...

