Then and Now

From the Daily Prompt Powerful Suggestion

photo from http://www.dreamstime.com/photos-images/hot-hog-fast-food-meal-potato-chips-soda.html

When I was twelve, a friend of the family told me about what hot-dogs are made of and what was in dark-coloured soda. (I won’t give details as they are nasty from what she’d said). True or not, I’ve never eaten a hot-dog to this day nor had any soda that I can’t see through!

When I look back, so eager in my youth to grow up, get married, build a career, I only wish that I had heard.. even if someone did tell me, that I’d listened to how important it is to follow God’s plan for us in marriage.

Had I allowed God to lead my marriage, there wouldn’t have been the destruction that I when I saw a man that got mean when he drank too much, I wouldn’t say “that’s not really him”.

I would have walked away and never come back..

24 Comments on “Then and Now

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Powerful Suggestion – which I usually ignore | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: If Only I Had Listened… | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  3. That is wisdom! Having God in our marriage doesn’t make it perfect mt any means, but it certainly makes it better. I wish I would have know that with my first marriage. Like you, I just jumped into head first and it quickly fell apart. Had I known this lesson that you’re sharing, back then, things would have been much different. However with that said, I don’t see it as a mistake. It was a learning experience.

    Like

    • So very true.. I thank you for sharing and it is true mistakes are just lessons in the making 😉
      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting.
      May God bless you richly,
      Easter

      Like

  4. Oh my, this hit me so hard, as I did 3 years of rageaholic abuse (in a Christian marriage–every Sunday in church) when I was in my early 20’s. Very well written–with the intro about hot dogs and soda, which seem so benign, compared to the rest of the story. God bless you.

    Like

    • 🙂 I am so glad that you saw the comparison of how we listen to the stupid things but don’t listen to the most important.

      I am so sorry to hear that you went through such a horrible experience for so long. I know what it can do to you and your loved ones. I was married to a rage-filled, alcoholic that then later became a drug addict. I tried everything to help him, but after seeing how much he had hurt our children, I finally left after 18 years. It was so much later than it should have been, though.
      Huge hugs,
      E

      Like

      • I didn’t have children, so that was a mercy. But there was no one to warn me ahead of time–after controlling, micro-managing my entire life, my parents went silent about the most important decision of my life. The pain of abandonment continues, and I’ve never fully recovered from the combo package of abuse growing up, and marital.

        Like

        • You will. I am.. over time, with God’s love, there is such a tremendous difference in my life that it is almost tangible at times.
          Furthermore, He is using all of those years of pain, abandonment, unworthiness, abuse and despair to write and reach others’ hearts.
          He will use all things for our good and His glory. This is a promise that I have seen Him fulfill over and over.
          I pray that God’s love will tangibly pour over you like a warm oil that is filled with healing, tenderness and His presence.
          Big hugs and blessings,
          Easter

          Like

  5. Pingback: Suggestion IS Powerful! | The Hempstead Man

  6. Hind sight 20/20. 🙂 Well I’m up to today. I don’t know how much more I’m going to read. But is getting tired and when I get on the tablet I tend to play games more than read. 🙂

    Like

    • Lol – I go through obsessive spurts of Bejewelled on my phone. I don’t use a tablet just because I have the laptop and phone. There are times that I want one, however.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Daily prompt: Advice | The Wandering Poet

  8. I read about what hot dogs were made of a years ago and I was shocked! I stopped eating hot dogs when I gave up beef and pork. We all take things into our own hands and wish we had done things differently. It’s a shame you had to experience that marriage, but there are always lessons to be learned!

    Like

    • Indeed there are.. Although it was painful, I have healed from it and grown so much closer to God. Now I am praying for my children’s healing.

      Like

  9. Maybe its you, but try that hot dog or soda just once. Atleast a bite. They are not healthy, but I think there are things we don’t try because people tell us not to. Why live with a fear. Trying won’t damage you, it damages the health for those who consume way too often. Who knows you would go and try more things that you must be fearing. Its just my opinion but you are the person who knows whats important for you. Good luck and god bless 🙂

    Like

    • i am somewhat and hesitantly open to trying a soda but I can’t even stand the smell of hotdogs. My partner has been trying to get me to eat them for years now. Maybe someday if they are BBQed.

      He has gotten me to explore quite a few foods that I would never have gone near over the last few years and I have discovered the pleasures of seafood, fish, moose and other things that I can’t think of at the moment, but am thankful for.

      Bless you lots and lots,

      Thanks so much for the encouragement.

      Like

  10. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Powerful Suggestion | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

I love and appreciate feedback. Feel free to let me know what you think. Bless you lots, Easter Ellen

everyday deelights

capturing your deelightful day

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Remind Your Mind

Navigating the journey to higher awareness.

New Millionaires Mindset

It's all in your head

Be Inspired

You're Here..., Because You Inspire God

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

eastelmhurst.a.go.go

I have a hyperactive imagination.Welcome to my world. You can get here by way of Astoria Blvd.,Sunrise Hwy or Wyoming Avenue~

dribblingpensioner

Just another pensioner with his thoughts if he can remember them

Joke for today

A NEW JOKE EVERY DAY

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

- LozziiRAWR - Quotes

Quotes that mean something

Conversations Around the Tree

friends and followers discuss random ideas

Storybook Art Café Blog

Every Life is a Storybook Unfolding! Learn about faith, hope & love through Scripture, stories & art

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

Covey View

a covey of bloggers presenting a view of their world.

3 words

working with three words a day

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Meredith's Reveries

Think, read, write

The blossoming fall

Dealing with the everyday issues of school and friends.

Tripping Over Pebbles No More

Rants, raves and ramblings about whatever takes my fancy

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

Triumphant Wings

A Journey with Lupus & Antiphospholipid Syndrome

jaybluepoems

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

MBK Wildlife Photography

Wildlife Photography and Bird Photography Blog, technique and pictures

Living With No Excuses

The Way Forward!

Hostess At Heart

Sharing life one recipe at a time

From the North to the South

And all the stops along the way

Gail Masinda

Music Studio

Dare to Dream, Live to Write

Closer to the dream. One word at a time.

My Renaissance

This is my journey of constantly being reborn into a better self every day. ~

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Amongst the crowd

A truthful and honest journey

{This Is Life}

... it doesn't get better than this!

Cladach Publishing

Producing and Providing Christian Books from Our Shore to Yours

Tell Me About It

Tell Me About It

Angelart Star

The beautiful picture of angels makes you happy.

Willis Island Walking

The story of a completed walk for charity around a desert island in the Coral Sea

photo roberts blog

ich zeige euch meine stadt wie ich sie sehe

Wandering Iris

Wandering through life, getting better every day.

Lins Doodles

Illustration Friday challenge, artwork, mixed media, drawings, photo challenges

ArtKorppi

ends 28.3.2016?

Uncle Tree's House

Putting music to words, and words to pictures ~

Why? Matters

Why do I do what I do?

