Meant to Be

Inspired by today’s Daily Post Daily Prompt “Born to Be With You”

Love him so much!

Love him so much!

Meant to Be

We all have our stories about love and “meant to be”. I have heard so many that warm my heart through to the core. I happen to like my story quite a lot also, so I will share it with you.

I first met my beloved when I was ten. I had just moved into a new area and although it always seemed that I was very good at meeting new people, I was very shy on the inside. For whatever reason, my family moved a lot, so I learned early in life how to interact well with others and adapt quickly to new situations. I met a few really nice kids on my street and became very close to Stefano, Susy and Eva. We hung out on our verandahs all summer together, laughed a lot and became very close.

As time passed, Eva and I spent most evenings after school together and as we grew closer, we were inseparable; I would even come along to family gatherings with her and got to know all of her aunts, uncles and cousins. They welcomed me as if I had always been around. Being Italian, she had a LOT of family. I loved her and the way that they treated each other and came to hope to find that for myself someday when I would marry.

In my new school, I was placed in the same grade as Eva’s cousin Tony. He was one of the funny kids, always with a quick joke, bright, always laughing and somehow had a way of getting into trouble often just for being in the wrong place at the right time. Teachers loved him and he was always dating one girl or another.

I always loved when he came over to Eva’s as he made me laugh a lot and he was very sweet with me. I knew that he knew that I had a crush on him and he would flirt with me, but he was always dating someone!

When we were inbetween grade-school and high-school, we had a “moment” together at the cottage and shared a kiss.. and got caught! My goodness! That was a disaster. Never again would we be in the same room without all eyes on us making sure that we were in opposite corners of the room. Our “moment” was very sweet though. There was something so electrifying about it that just never left me.

I loved all of Eva’s family, Tony’s own family included. We never got together after that kiss, but we would still see each other at birthdays and family events from time to time. We both eventually got married and watched each others’ family grow. It was always nice to hear from my friend about how Tony and his family were.

Years passed by and eventually both of our marriages had ended. Although I would have loved to have seen him again, we never happened to be at any functions together anymore.

One day, a friend from work asked me what I was looking for if I were to ever meet “the one”. I thought and thought about it and made a detailed list of all of the attributes that I thought were important to me.. all of my heart’s desires. I was as detailed as can be as I believed that God would answer my prayers with this. At this point, Tony never even entered my mind, but funny enough, I told my co-worker that I wanted to marry someone who had a family “just like my friend Eva’s” as they were always so loving and spent so much time together. I told my colleague all of my “wish list” in so much detail, from job type to shape of hands to his faith and ways with his children to his laugh, colour of hair and eyes. I kept this list in my daytimer for years, hoping that some day, that “one” would come.

Dating after marriage was not easy. I don’t go out much at all, have four children that were still fairly young and all of my friends were married.. happily, for the most part. At some point I decided to try on-line dating to meet someone and joined a couple of sites. It was not very encouraging.

After a few years of trying to meet someone, I had pretty much given up on it and thought that the only way I would ever meet anyone would be through someone that I know. I was tired of trying to meet someone and thought that it was just best to leave things in God’s hands. To stop looking and just be “found” when the timing was God’s.

After several discouraging attempts to meet someone, I listened to a friend and decided to change my profile picture of myself to one with no makeup on that had been taken the year before. I completely re-wrote my profile to be one of a love letter for that “one” and left it at that. Within a week of doing that, as I was getting ready for bed one night, I got a message from someone that looked a lot like Tony. It simply said “You look a lot like a girl I used to know.. could this be you Easter?”. I was sure that it was him. (Big smile)

The next night we talked for hours. Three dates came and went quickly and I was just not sure.. I enjoyed his company just as I always had. He was still so funny, a great listener, inquisitive and had a great memory for detail. I just was not sure.. could we be more? Was that “it” there? Then the fourth date came with a first kiss that was magical and perfect. It was the most polite and earnest first-kiss (well second, first kiss that is, to be technical) that I’d ever had. The “it” was definitely there. This sweet, funny, nice man was a gentleman, was thoughtful, had sparkling green eyes, hands that were perfect and all that my heart had ever wanted.

This was almost five years ago.

So what is the really cool part? The girl at work that I had read my “wish list” to when I thought about what meant the most to me, spoke to me a couple of years after we had started dating. I had forgotten about the list and forgotten all about our conversation, but when she heard I had been dating for a couple of years, the questions rushed out of her so quickly that I could barely keep up. Natalie had remembered every detail of that list including the eye colour, the part about being “like” Eva’s family and what career I would prefer. Unbelievably, he was everything.. and I mean everything that I had written about that day!

It sounds so ridiculous to say it, but he was and still is all of my heart’s desires answered. He is an answer to prayer, he balances my weaknesses with his strengths and he accepts my strengths in the areas that he feels he lacks. We can drive each other crazy, but we are happy. We are blessed, we are finally together and I know.. just meant to be.

6 Comments on “Meant to Be

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “The Ice Maiden” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

I love and appreciate feedback. Feel free to let me know what you think. Bless you lots, Easter Ellen

everyday deelights

capturing your deelightful day

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Remind Your Mind

Navigating the journey to higher awareness.

New Millionaires Mindset

It's all in your head

Be Inspired

You're Here..., Because You Inspire God

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

eastelmhurst.a.go.go

I have a hyperactive imagination.Welcome to my world. You can get here by way of Astoria Blvd.,Sunrise Hwy or Wyoming Avenue~

dribblingpensioner

Just another pensioner with his thoughts if he can remember them

Joke for today

A NEW JOKE EVERY DAY

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

- LozziiRAWR - Quotes

Quotes that mean something

Conversations Around the Tree

friends and followers discuss random ideas

Storybook Art Café Blog

Every Life is a Storybook Unfolding! Learn about faith, hope & love through Scripture, stories & art

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

Covey View

a covey of bloggers presenting a view of their world.

3 words

working with three words a day

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Meredith's Reveries

Think, read, write

The blossoming fall

Dealing with the everyday issues of school and friends.

Tripping Over Pebbles No More

Rants, raves and ramblings about whatever takes my fancy

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

Triumphant Wings

A Journey with Lupus & Antiphospholipid Syndrome

jaybluepoems

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

MBK Wildlife Photography

Wildlife Photography and Bird Photography Blog, technique and pictures

Living With No Excuses

The Way Forward!

Hostess At Heart

Sharing life one recipe at a time

From the North to the South

And all the stops along the way

Gail Masinda

Music Studio

Dare to Dream, Live to Write

Closer to the dream. One word at a time.

My Renaissance

This is my journey of constantly being reborn into a better self every day. ~

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Amongst the crowd

A truthful and honest journey

{This Is Life}

... it doesn't get better than this!

Cladach Publishing

Producing and Providing Christian Books from Our Shore to Yours

Tell Me About It

Tell Me About It

Angelart Star

The beautiful picture of angels makes you happy.

Willis Island Walking

The story of a completed walk for charity around a desert island in the Coral Sea

photo roberts blog

ich zeige euch meine stadt wie ich sie sehe

Wandering Iris

Wandering through life, getting better every day.

Lins Doodles

Illustration Friday challenge, artwork, mixed media, drawings, photo challenges

ArtKorppi

ends 28.3.2016?

Uncle Tree's House

Putting music to words, and words to pictures ~

Why? Matters

Why do I do what I do?

